Midweek Meals- Perfect pakoras

Being pregnant I crave all sorts of food and become repelled by certain things just as easily. Last night it was meat, I couldn’t stand the thought of eating it for dinner so a vegetarian meal was on the cards. I hadn’t planned for this of course so I had to make do with what was in the house. A quick glance in the vegetable crisper confirmed my worst fears- it was rather lacking in enticing veggies with only a single cob of corn, a quarter of red cabbage, and a lonely cucumber. There are few recipes based on a single veggie but happily I had recently seen a program featuring pakoras, this was my chance to give them a go!

I decided to make the corn the feature of the pakora and bulked it up with some frozen corn & peas from the freezer.

Pakoras

Ingredients:
150g Besan flour (chickpea flour)
2 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp tumeric
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
Corn
Spring onion (or in this case red onion as that’s all I had!)

Method:

  • Mix dry ingredients together
  • Add water mixing quickly (it will fizz a little) until you get the texture of thick cream
  • Add vegetables to the batter (corn kernels and finely diced red onion)
  • Fry in oil (I used coconut)
  • Sprinkle with chopped coriander leaves

pakoras

I served with a raita to dip the pakoras in (homemade natural yoghurt, grated cucumber, crushed garlic, and salt), cabbage salad (shredded cabbage and mint leaves), homemade mango chutney, brown sesame rice, and spiced chickpeas (recipe below). What started off looking like a bare cupboard ended up producing a delicious and generous meal! Bonus- it was oh so cheap!

Spiced Chickpeas

Ingredients:
Cumin seeds
Carroway seeds
Coriander seeds
Chickpeas (from a can or cooked from dried)

Method:

  • Toast the seeds in a dry skillet then crush in a mortar and pestle
  • Add chickpeas to the skillet and a little oil or butter and toss with spices to combine

 

4 comments

  1. Thanks for linking this to DTE fb page. I’m adding it to my low cholesterol diet. I think I can encourage 24 yr old DS to try it too as he’ll eat vegetable stir fry now as long as it’s spicy enough! Lol, I keep telling him I’m saving his life :).

Leave a Reply

