Lime Cordial

This is the last citrus post for a while. I promise. And yes, it’s another drink!

Lime cordial is a favourite around here. My husband loves a long cold cordial on a hot day so making lime cordial seemed like a good thing to do with all those limes.

I did a little googling and most recipes appeared to be quite similar so I decided to create my own version using ingredients and equipment I had on hand. In order to make juicing easier I boiled the limes for a couple of minutes, if you have a microwave you could give them a quick zap, as heating them releases all that lovely juice.

juiced

Ingredients:

  • 10 limes
  • 4 cups water
  • 6 cups sugar
  • 1 tbsp citric acid

Method:

  1. Zest a couple of the limes.
  2. Juice the limes.
  3. Bring water to the boil with the lime zest.
  4. Add sugar and citric acid to boiling water.
  5. Stir until dissolved. Boil for about 3 minutes then remove from heat.
  6. Add lime juice and bring the cordial back to the boil and simmer gently for a couple of minutes.
  7. Remove from the heat and leave to cool.
  8. Pour into sterile bottles.

This makes a lovely fresh cordial, both cloudy and syrupy. If cloudy is not your thing you can strain the cordial before bottling using a fine sieve or muslin but I am quite content with a cloudy cordial. You can of course adjust the amount of sugar etc but remember sugar acts as the preservative here so yes, a lot is necessary (the upside being when you make it yourself you realise just how much sugar is in it and hopefully will serve accordingly!).

limecordial

And yes, these are limes not lemons! They ripened on the tree in the sun so they are a wonderful yellow-lime green colour rather than the green limes you find in the supermarket which were picked unripe and ripened with gas after being stored for who knows how long (ugh). As you can see from the label it’s taken me a while to get this post up but the lovely hot weather over the weekend had my husband cracking open a bottle and it was delicious! I just had to share it with you.

7 comments

  1. Last time I made lime cordial it was very bitter, even with twice the sugar I put in my lemon cordial…needless to say I was severely disillusioned! But I’ve been thinking it saw probably the limees rather than my technique, since your recipe here is very similar to my lemon cordial recipe!

    1. Yes, blame it on the limes! 😉 Actually if you included any of the white pith that would make it bitter. Give it another go, can’t hurt!

    1. That sounds delightful! I love lavender but don’t have any growing at the moment. I do have rose geranium which I love to add to things, but some lavender would be nice. Did you just add a few sprigs to your normal recipe Gillie?

      1. I added the sprigs to the boiling stage and then sieved them out. I love rose geranium but don’t have any! If we weren’t so far away we could swap!

Leave a Reply

