Masala Chai

The Autumn chill has started to set in and this means hot drinks will be consumed more and more frequently! One of my favourites is masala chai, a delicious spiced tea. The spices seem to warm me up that little bit more than a regular cup of tea, so I find it perfect for colder weather, and it always feels like a wonderful indulgence with those heavenly spices and a touch of something sweet like honey or agave nectar. Masala chai can be expensive if you buy it ready-made but it is oh so easy to make your own and if you make up a concentrate it’s as easy as adding a splash to your normal cup of tea or a couple of frozen cubes of concentrate to your pot of milk on the stove.

IMG_4286

IMG_4282

I make my masala chai concentrate in the pressure cooker using my favourite combination of spices (I like it spicy) including lots of black pepper! Simply add your spices, grating the ginger if you choose to use it, add water and boil away. Once your concentrate is strong enough strain out the spices and store in a clean bottle in the fridge or pour into an ice cube tray and freeze.

IMG_4298

It always amazes me how potent these spices are. So much power in such little packages.

IMG_4287

IMG_4288

IMG_4289

IMG_4290

IMG_4292

IMG_4293

IMG_4295

9 comments

  1. My Great Aunt used to put a couple of cloves in her milk. I remember I was young enough to not be sure if I liked it or not, LOL!! But I also recall that its supposed to make it good for you, I mean, better good for you….more good for you? Better for you?….um, whatever the correct grammer is.
    Yes, I agree, your photo’s are verry good. I enjoyed them a lot šŸ™‚

    1. I knew Oil of Cloves was great for cleaning and killing mould but I didn’t really know how beneficial it was to consume! A little googling has told me it’s high in antioxidants and something called Eugenol which is toxic against harmful organisms, including fungus. It also has analgesic and anesthetic effects (I’ve heard of people using it to treat toothaches- dentist’s daughter here! Thanks for arousing my interest MrsYub!

  2. Hi liked your comment on Down to Earth and came over lol saw your chai recipe I can’t drink coffee anymore Could you give the amounts and name of ingredients ? Thank you Kay

    1. Hi Kay,
      thanks and welcome!

      I use roughly 1/8 cup fennel seeds, 1/4 cup cardamon pods, handful of cinnamon sticks (I think there’s 6 in the photo above), 1/8 cup black peppercorns, a couple of star anise, 1/4 cup cloves, a knob of freshly grated ginger and lately I’ve started adding licorise root after I found it at my local Asian grocery store. I really don’t stick to hard and fast amounts, I tailor it to my mood. I use about 2L water but that’s in the pressure cooker, if you’re using a regular saucepan I’d add more water to allow for evaporation.

  3. Alacoque, I am Indian so I have at least 2-3 cups of Masala Chai! I usually boil all the spices in water and add tea leaves, boil some more and then add milk and sugar to the mix. Once the tea is brewed, I have it piping hot! šŸ™‚

    Your idea of preparing a concentrate and freezing it sound interesting. Will give it a try!

    1. I would love to hear how it goes! What do you think of the ingredients I’ve included, are they similar to your recipe?

Leave a Reply

