Use what you have

The food we grow in our local community garden goes a great way to relieving the pressure on our grocery budget, however its sometimes requires a bit of creativity and eating out of our comfort zone. At present the garden is producing some lovely daikon. I was so excited when I pulled out this beauty the other day (isn’t harvesting root veggies like uncovering buried treasure- you never know what you’re going to get but you know it will be good)!

daikon

What a thing of beauty! The only problem, of course, was what to do with it?! I knew daikon was often used fresh grated as a condiment but I wanted something that would last some time if my husband didn’t enjoy it (there’s only so much a gal can eat on her own!). Kimchi was the answer. I first discovered kimchi when I was living in China and would frequent a local Korean restaurant for a change of cuisine. I love the stuff. Fermented foods do wonders for my body and kimchi just tastes bloody good. So I got to researching recipes, picked up some Chinese cabbage at the markets, dug out some carrots, chilli and ginger from the crisper, and started fermenting. It worked a treat. I used the entire daikon and rediscovered my love of kimchi.

kimchi

 

Being frugal can force you to use what you have, push your skills and limits, and often results in serendipitous moments. What wonderful discoveries have you made using the things available to you?

 

3 comments

  1. I’ll be trying the white radish again this year. Last year they were a flop for some reason, but I want to give them another go! What kimchi recipe do you use? I haven’t tried it yet.

    1. I used Sandor Ellix Katz’s Baechu (Cabbage) Kimchi recipe from his book ‘Wild Fermentation’. Very easy and so delicious.

Leave a Reply

