Yoghurt and Cooking From Scratch

Yesterday I ate some of my first ever homemade yoghurt!

yoghurt

I’m a big yoghurt fan. I use it in everything, sweet and savoury, sometimes as a side and sometimes as the main event. It does wonders for my gut and I love that my body can handle yoghurt even when I’ve overindulged in other forms of dairy. The thing is the whole milk natural yoghurt I prefer is kind of expensive (around $6 a tub) and I go through a lot of it. Cue my new book purchaseΒ Wild Fermentation by Sandor Ellix Katz.

It actually hadn’t occurred to me that yoghurt was simply fermented milk and I certainly didn’t know this was something I could make at home. What a pleasant surprise! It is so easy and cheap- all you need is a litre of milk and a tablespoon of starter culture (i.e. live yoghurt). Warm the milk, add your yoghurt, leave overnight somewhere warm and bam- homemade yoghurt!

Until now I thought I was doing pretty well cooking from scratch, I certainly never buy things like bottled pasta sauce for example, but now I realise I can step things up a notch. Cooking from scratch isn’t just about avoiding packaged foods but getting back to raw ingredients. I had viewed yoghurt as an ingredient but really it is a food product made from milk, just like butter and cheese. Cheese will be my next adventure. I plan on making labneh this week with some of my yoghurt.

I love that cooking from scratch allows me to tailor our food to our family’s needs. I love knowing exactly what we’re eating. I love the simplicity of my shopping list and that a smaller list of ingredients to purchase means less companies to research and compare to ensure they meet our family values and budget. I love the feeling of accomplishment I get when I master a new skill, recipe, or technique. Do you cook from scratch? What do you believe ‘from scratch’ to be and what do you love about it?

5 comments

  1. I like it πŸ™‚ Unfortunatly this method doesn’t work for me, as I do not have access to pure enough yogurt culture, BUT!! I buy the natural packet stuff from the shops, and works fine for us, even if it is only ‘single use’, (and yes, I did try to restart it from this stuff, didna work!)
    Hey! Do you make your own pasta sauce and bottle it for later, or just make it from scratch at the time? I have tried bottling my pasta sauce, and it was not a success, and I don’t always have time to make mine from scratch BUT!! I have discovered that the relishes and chutneys that I have been making work fab as pasta sauces, so I am happy πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    1. Sorry to hear this hasn’t worked for you MrsYub! Maybe keep an ear out for friends who have had success and borrow a bit of their yoghurt as a starter. Sounds like you’re doing well with your relishes and chutneys anyway! πŸ˜€

      At the moment I make my pasta sauce from scratch when I want to use it but bottling my own sauce is something I want to start doing. I love how the big Italian families spend a weekend together making, bottling, and water bathing hundreds of bottles of pasta sauce! I would love to get a few friends and family members together to do something similar. πŸ™‚

      1. That’s a wonderful picture in my head, everyone buzzing around the kitchen (not getting in each others way’s) working busily, chatting happily to anyone who will listen (and everyone does, and there is no swearing whatsoever!) and at the end of the day there is nothing but satisfaction in a job well done (and no hard feelings because she wouldn’t listen, or she kept nicking my spoon, or I got the blunt knife!)
        Yep, need to spend some time in Italy and see how they manage it, LOL!!
        When you broil your own sauce, post it up, I want to see how you do it!
        Say, do you have a good tomatoe sauce (for sausages and meat pies, not pasta) sauce? I want one that will taste like the stuff from the shops, or better, but do you think I can find a recipe?? Noooo!

  2. Yes when I work in the kitchen it’s a one woman show! Here the Italian families do all the cooking, bottling etc in the backyard- much more room! There’s a great scene in ‘Looking for Alibrandi’ which illustrates it. When I get around to doing it myself I promise I’ll document and post on the blog!

    For a tomato sauce/ketchup recipe I’d try the one in the ‘River Cottage Cookbook’. I haven’t made it myself but I find Hugh’s recipes to be authentic-tasting and easy.

Leave a Reply

